ASA December 2016

12/03/2016 – 8:30 AM
IX-L-2 Transforming Nollywood: Corporate Interventions, Part 1
Chair: Jonathan Haynes, Long Island University, jonathan.haynes@liu.edu
Media Platform and Nollywood Content
Moradewun Adejunmobi, University of California, Davis, madejunmobi@ucdavis.edu
Irokotv: Nollywood Meets Internet Capitalism
Jonathan Haynes, Long Island University, jonathan.haynes@liu.edu
Soft Power, Hard Currency: Chinese Media Corporations and the Nigerian Video Film Industry
Alessandro Jedlowski, University of Liege, alessandro.jedlowski@gmail.com
Nollywood and the Multiplex Cinema Experience: Assembling Capital, Image, and Affect
Connor Ryan, Michigan State University, ryanconn@msu.edu

12/03/2016 – 10:30 AM
X-L-1 Transforming Nollywood: Corporate Interventions, Part 2
Chairs: Noah Tsika, CUNY Queens College, noah.a.tsika@gmail.com and Carmen McCain, Westmont College, crmccain@gmail.com
The African New Wave and its Female Component
Manouchka Kelly Labouba, University of Southern California, labouba@usc.edu
Nollywood after Reality TV: New Players, New Platforms, New Narratives
Noah Tsika, CUNY Queens College, noah.a.tsika@gmail.com
Kannywood Cycles Back to the Future: Celebrity, Cinema, Serials and the Search for a Global Audience
Carmen McCain, Westmont College, crmccain@gmail.com
Nollywood and its Oppositions: Readings of Mount Zion Film’s Reflections on Nollywood
Elizabeth Olayiwola, Kwara State University, Elizabeth.olayiwola@kwasu.edu.ng